Learning from Loneliness

It’s funny how you are blessed, and how sometimes, we get what we ask for and still complain about it.
Here’s to learning how to be content, grow from the present opportunity, and to view it in a more positive light.
For the past few months, I’ve been promising God to spend more time with Him and in His word.  The past month or so, I’ve been “too busy”.  You know how that is.
In the past 10 days, I’ve had one evening work commitment and one social get together.  Otherwise, it’s been work, come home, and stay home alone.  The upcoming week will be more of the same as friends are out of town and work is slow.   I’ve let myself become lonely and discouraged.  Sadly enough, I almost missed the blessing.
I firmly believe that God has given me this time, taken away distractions, and provided me with an opportunity to spend time with Him.  Over and over I’ve told Him that He’s my first priority and I want to get closer to Him before a man and before I change jobs.  It’s funny that I asked for this, indirectly, God provided and like a typical human, I wasn’t content.

383545_721459382999_910200398_n

The sermon last week at church was all about purpose- not our jobs- but the fact that God created us to worship Him and grow into people more like Jesus. 
The very credentials these people are waving around as something special, I’m tearing up and throwing out with the trash—along with everything else I used to take credit for. And why? Because of Christ. Yes, all the things I once thought were so important are gone from my life. Compared to the high privilege of knowing Christ Jesus as my Master, firsthand, everything I once thought I had going for me is insignificant—dog dung. I’ve dumped it all in the trash so that I could embrace Christ and be embraced by him. I didn’t want some petty, inferior brand of righteousness that comes from keeping a list of rules when I could get the robust kind that comes from trusting Christ—God’s righteousness. 
Philippians 3:7-9 The Message
Philippians 3: 8 has, for a long time been one of my favorite verses, thank you Marmon Valley Farm and our weekly memory verses.  I’ve known this by heart for 12 years.
Pastor Aaron translated it this way: your job doesn’t matter, all that matters is living for Jesus- all the time.  Be content in Jesus; you don’t need anything else.
Interestingly enough, Paul wrote these words from a prison in Rome.  Talk about bored and lonely.  Yet his words are filled with hope and praise.
I’m a little embarrassed to say that I wasted the first part of my blessing.  I spent my evenings being sad and feeling bad for myself instead giving glory and thanks where it was due. 
Thankfully, Aaron reminded us that “it’s never too late to be who you might have been in Christ”.  Each day is a chance to start new and to live with purpose.
About megankruse

Me? Well I'd say I'm pretty average leading a pretty average life. What's not average is God. He is extraordinary and is radically transforming my life and opening my eyes. Religious or not, I hope everyone takes something from my stories and experiences. Be encouraged, laugh, be uplifted on this beautiful journey with me.
This entry was posted in From The Heart, Religious Lesson and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

